Aseara, in cadrul unei ceremonii la Los Angeles, au fost decernate premiile Nebula 2009. Castigatorii sunt :

  • Cel mai bun roman

Ursula K. Le Guin – Powers (Annals of the Western Shore) – Harcourt, Sep07  – Este vorba de cel de-al treilea roman YA din seria Annals of the Western Shore.


Starred Review. Grade 7 Up—Gavir, a 14-year-old slave in a noble household in Etra, one of the city-states in Le Guin’s vividly imagined country, the Western Shore, is troubled by visions that may or may not foretell future events. Kidnapped in early childhood from the northern Marshes, set apart by his darker skin and hooked nose, endowed with a prodigious memory, Gavir is educated to become the scholar who will teach the family’s children and their slaves. Protected by his elder sister, Gavir accepts his lot, unable to imagine any other life. Trusting his masters implicitly, he is blind to the danger that enslavement poses to his beautiful sister. When she is raped and killed by the second son of the household, Gavir walks away from the city, crazed with grief. He continues to walk for three years, passing through a wild forest into the Marshlands where he was born. He meets a variety of people along the way, some protective, some threatening, each one contributing to his quest to discover who he is and where he belongs. Hunted by an old enemy from Etra, Gavir returns to the forest to rescue a small girl he met there. In a thrilling escape sequence, he carries her to freedom. He finds a home with Orrec, Gry, and Memer, heroes of Gifts (2004) and Voices (2006, both Harcourt).

Ceilalti nominalizati au fost :

Little Brother – Cory Doctorow
Cauldron – Jack McDevitt
Brasyl – Ian McDonald
Making Money – Terry Pratchett
Superpowers – David J. Schwartz

  • Nuvela

The Spacetime Pool” – Catherine Asaro (Analog, Mar`08)

  • Nuveleta

Pride and Prometheus” – John Kessel (F&SF, Ian`08)

  • Povestire

Trophy Wives” – Nina Kiriki Hoffman (Fellowship Fantastic, ed. Greenberg and Hughes, Daw Jan08)

  • Scenariu

“WALL-E” Screenplay by Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon, Original story by Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter (Walt Disney June 2008)

Au mai fost acordate si o serie de premii anuntate cu ceva timp inainte:

Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award: Harry Harrison
SFWA Author Emerita: MJ Engh
Bradbury Award: Joss Whedon
SFWA Service Award: Victoria Strauss
Solstice Award: Kate Wilhelm, Martin H Greenberg, AJ Budrys